Crafty Mands

Chronicles of my obsession with all things crafty

National Fibromyalgia Day of Awareness – May 12th – Shop for a Cause April 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amanda @ 3:59 am

May 12th is the National Fibromyalgia Day of Awareness.  If someone you know or love suffers from this chronic pain disorder, please  consider taking the Pledge to Care.  Fibromyalgia can make life seem extremely desolate and knowing that people care and are willing to help can make all the difference.

When I was diagnosed ten years ago (at the tender age of 20!) it seemed like a death sentence!  After all, I was 20 and I felt like I was 90!  Now, at 30, because of all of the advances in treatment I can do so much more and live a much more productive life.  For instance, I can knit every day now and that’s a matter of life and death for a knitter (and their family!) LOL

There’s still so much to learn though.  We don’t know what causes FM, for instance, and that could be key in finding a better treatment or even a cure.  That all costs money though.

So…in honor of National Fibromyalgia Awareness Day I’m hosting an online Tupperware party with all proceeds going to support the work that the National Fibromyalgia Association does.  If you need some Tupperware, or have been thinking about buying some, would you consider supporting this cause?  For each piece of Tupperware that is purchased the buyer will be entered into a drawing for a Loopy Ewe gift certificate.  (Sheri deserves some good to come her way for all the good she does for everyone else!)

Please consider helping this cause…According to the NFA website: “Fibromyalgia is one of the most common chronic pain conditions. The disorder affects an estimated 10 million people in the U.S. and an estimated 3-6% of the world population.”

To start shopping for the cause click here.  Please note that the online party ends May 10th.

Thanks for your help and may your days always be healthy!

 

10 Responses to “National Fibromyalgia Day of Awareness – May 12th – Shop for a Cause”

  1. Julia Hosack Says:

    Thanks for this. I will definately be spreading the word and helping out.

  2. TeresaNC Says:

    As a fellow fibro sufferer, I can’t put into words how much this means to me. I’ve been diagnosed for 12 years and the pain and fatigue is beyond words some days. As you say, you feel 90 and way on the other side of the hill. I appreciate all the National Fibromyalgia Association can do for us and this disease and the fact that people can become more aware that “yes” fibromyalgia is a REAL disease and not just in our heads.
    Thank you for your part to help.

    • Amanda Says:

      Teresa, thank you for the kind words! Knowing that someone else feels the same way too is what the NFA is all about!

  3. KSee Says:

    Thank you for this information. I did not know about May 12th. I have had FMS for over 25 years. Back then the doctor would make me think it was all in my head. I was doing well untill June 2001 when I had complications with a routine gall bladder surgery. STRESS. I will be checking out your link and posting on my blog.

  4. Paula Says:

    Hi. I have fibromyalgia and giave up knitting for about 10 years. I am much better now. I have found some neat Tupperware to order!

    • Amanda Says:

      Paula, I’m so glad that you’re better now. I hope that, if you weren’t aware of it before, the information on the NFA website can help you too! Thanks for shopping for the cause and if you ever need anything else Tupperware, let me know.

  5. roebeauty Says:

    In honor of FAD I have launched http://www.lightonfibro.com


Leave a comment