Crafty Mands

Chronicles of my obsession with all things crafty

But You Don’t Look Sick April 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amanda @ 2:18 pm

Yesterday I was volunteering to answer the phones at church when the office manager started asking me questions about what it’s like to have Fibromyalgia.  Inevitably the conversation came around to the point where we talked about the fact that it’s difficult to have something that so few people know about and even fewer understand. 

When I was diagnosed I was so angry.  I was very depressed for a very long time.  I simply didn’t want to face the fact that I was going to live life with limitations.  To be quite honest, while I’m not so depressed anymore, I’m still not sure how to deal with the living life with limitations part yet.  It’s hard to not look sick and still have to say to people, “I’m sorry, I can’t do x, y, z, because I need to save my energy.” 

Christine, the author of “But You Don’t Look Sick” hit the nail on the head.  People who have diseases and disorders where we don’t look sick every day still have a limited number of “spoons” that we can use up each day and our number of spoons is much lower than that of a healthy person.

Please, if you’re struggling to find a way to deal with your own Fibromyalgia limitations or with the limitations of someone close to you, take some time to read But You Don’t Look Sick.

In knitting news…I finished my Trekking XXL socks and they fit like the proverbial glove.  Just need to kitchener the toe of the second sock and decide if I’m going to tear out the toe of the first sock and redo the kitchener on that one.

Happy Tuesday!

 

One Response to “But You Don’t Look Sick”

  1. Anne Kaelber Says:

    I’m not sure how I missed your comment to my blog! Usually, I get an email that someone dropped by to say, “Hi!”. Sorry to be so slow returning the, “Hello!”

    I’ve learned that fibro teaches us who our *real* friends are. They are the ones who stick around despite all the things we can’t do. Who still come hang out at the house, even though it’s a mess! Who ask, “How are you today?” and *really* want the true answer, not just the canned response for casual conversation.

    I finally tried to get my floors mopped this past week. I sorta managed… I used a dining room chair and sat in it, mopping several squares all the way around, until I needed to move. Tuesday I got one section I’d wanted to see clean for *months* done. The next day, I did the entire kitchen floor (in 2 separate sessions, with help from my 16yr old son). I still have a long hallway, a large entry, a large great room…. I woke up Thursday and realized I needed to *not* do anything physical that entire day.

    And then today (well, Friday but I haven’t been to bed yet…) I ran errands all day and had to skip a social event I had planned to go to.

    whine-whine-whine, eh? You stop by anytime and whine. I’ll listen. Congrats on the decision to do the schooling. I still haven’t stepped up and committed to that myself. waffle-waffle.

    Peace,
    Anne.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.